Secondary vocational education in Ghana

In Ghana, secondary vocational education is part of Technical and Vocational Education and Training (TVET). The Commission for Technical and Vocational Education and Training (CTVET) is responsible for the content of study programmes (curriculum) and the accreditation of educational institutions (TVET providers) and study programmes.

Types of study programmes

There are many types of study programmes in Ghanaian secondary vocational education. The study programmes vary in terms of their admission requirements, , content and . You need information about this in order to determine the level of a diploma. Below, we describe 2 diplomas we often see: the Certificate I and the Certificate II.

Certificate I

  • Duration: 2 years.
  • Content: profession-oriented subjects.
  • Admission requirements: a Basic Education Certificate or a comparable diploma.
  • Function of the diploma: access to study programmes for a Certificate II.
  • Diploma: a Certificate I.

We compare a Certificate I to an diploma level 2.

Certificate II

We usually compare a Certificate II to an MBO diploma level 3, and sometimes to an MBO diploma level 4. This depends on the content of the study programme.

Want to know more?

Do you have questions about secondary vocational education in Ghana? Contact the SBB, the expertise centre for foreign qualifications and study programmes at VMBO and MBO level.