Primary education consists of 5 year levels (P1–P5) for 6 to 10-year-olds. Students study the following subjects, with an emphasis on the first 3:

  • Native language or first language (L1)
  • Mathematics
  • First foreign language (L2)
  • Art
  • Music
  • Physical Education
  • Discovery of the World
  • Ethics or Religion

In P3–P5 ‘European Hours’ are part of the curriculum, allowing children from all nationalities (and language sections) to get to know each other through a range of activities.

After successful completion of primary education at the European School, in the year that students turn 11, they enter secondary education.