Orange Knowledge Programme - Overview

The objective of the Orange Knowledge Programme is to contribute to a society’s sustainable and inclusive development.
Orange Knowledge Programme

We aim to do this by strengthening the skills and knowledge of both individuals, groups of individuals and organisations.

The programme was kicked off mid-2017 for a period of 5 years and involves around 50 countries.

Scholarship applicant?

If you want to apply for an individual scholarship you can find all candidate information on our Study in Holland website.

1-minute introduction

Priority themes and instruments

The programme offers scholarships, training and institutional partnerships between education institutions in Technical and Vocational Education and Training (TVET) and higher education, in fields related to the priority themes of the Dutch government:

  • Food and nutrition security
  • Water, energy and climate
  • Sexual and reproductive health and rights
  • Security and the rule of law


The Orange Knowledge Programme consists of 4 instruments:

Participating countries

Below is an overview of the countries participating in the Orange Knowledge Programme*

Afghanistan • Albania • Armenia • Bangladesh • Benin • Bhutan • Bolivia • Burkina Faso • Burundi • Cambodia • Colombia • Congo (DRC) • Cuba • Egypt • Ethiopia • Georgia • Ghana • Guatemala • Guinea • India • Indonesia • Jordan • Kenya • Lebanon • Liberia • Macedonia • Mali • Mozambique • Myanmar • Nepal • Nicaragua • Nigeria • Pakistan • Palestinian Territories • Peru • Philippines • Rwanda • Senegal • Sierra Leone • Somalia • South Africa • South Sudan • Sri Lanka • Sudan • Surinam • Tanzania • Thailand • Uganda • Vietnam • Yemen • Zambia • Zimbabwe.

*subject to change

Country plans

For the Full programme countries, we will define 'Country Plans of Implementation' (CPIs). These will define the capacity needs for the specific country. They will describe the activities that will take place to contribute to building knowledge and skills within the chosen themes for the country or region in question.

We are currently visiting all the Full programme countries to set up these country plans. The CPIs will be published on our Institutional collaboration projects page as soon as they are available.

Policy framework and theory of change

The official policy framework was published in the Staatscourant. (in Dutch). We have provided a translation below:

Translation legal policy framework Orange Knowledge Programme‌ (195.7 kB)

For the Orange Knowledge Programme we developed a Theory of Change, outlining the desired outcomes and required interventions:

Summary of the Theory of Change‌ (104.5 kB)

Stay up to date

Subscribe to our updates on calls and deadlines of programmes:


See also

Call for alumni activities - Orange Knowledge programme

Deadline: until budget exhaustion - Grants for activities that allow alumni of the Orange Knowledge Programme to strengthen their network.

First Orange Knowledge tailor-made training grants

16 August 2018
The results of the first call for tailor-made trainings (TMTs) in the Orange Knowledge Programme have been published. 32 proposals were granted in this call, which closed in June 2018.

South Africa and the Netherlands sustain cooperation in vocational education

6 December 2017
South Africa and the Netherlands have worked together intensively on improving technical and vocational education and training sector (TVET) since 2006.