Nuffic Glossary

The Nuffic Glossary is a list with explanations of terms used in Dutch education.

  1. A
  2. B
  3. C
  4. D
  5. E
  6. F
  7. G
  8. H
  9. I
  10. J
  11. K
  12. L
  13. M
  14. N
  15. O
  16. P
  17. Q
  18. R
  19. S
  20. T
  21. U
  22. V
  23. W
  24. X
  25. Y
  26. Z
  27. Refresh

Nederlandse universiteiten

Dutch universities

In the Netherlands, university education is provided by universities, university-level institutions, the Open University, and by teaching hospitals. Nine universities provide education and conduct research in a wide range of traditional disciplines.

Of these nine, six are public (non-denominational): Leiden University; Universiteit van Amsterdam; University of Groningen; Utrecht University; Erasmus University, Rotterdam; and University of Limburg. Three are denominational, or 'special': Vrije Universiteit Amsterdam; University of Nijmegen; and Tilburg University.

Four universities offer programmes mainly in engineering and the natural sciences: Delft University of Technology; Eindhoven University of Technology; University of Twente; and Wageningen University.

Besides these 13 regular universities, there are eight university-level institutions - six theological universities, one University for Humanist Studies, and the Netherlands Business School (Nijenrode) - which operate independently of, but are approved by, the Ministry of Education, Culture and Science.