Secondary education grading system

There is no established nationwide grading system for secondary education in India. The central boards and state boards make use of their own grading systems. This system is often indicated on the reverse of the diploma and/or grades list.

In addition, the boards usually publish their grading system on their website, for example in their syllabus. For instance, see the following websites:

The boards sometimes use letter grades and associated percentages, but numbers and/or classifications are also used. The highest possible grade or where the line is drawn between a pass and fail grade can also vary depending on the subject.

Higher education grading system

The University Grants Commission (UGC) advises higher education institutions to use the following grading system:

Letter grade Result Score
O Outstanding 10
A+ Excellent 9
A Very good 8
B+ Good 7
B Above average 6
C Average 5
P Pass 4
F Fail 0
Ab Absent 0

While this system is in use at multiple institutions, it is not compulsory. Many institutions have developed their own grading system.

Some institutions convert the results into classifications, which are indicated on the diploma in addition to the grades. The following is an example of such an classification system:

Percentage Division
60-100 First Division
50-59 Second Division
40-49 Third Division
0-39 Fail

Instead of ‘division’, the term ‘class’ is also frequently used. Occasionally, classifications are not based on a percentage, but on the cumulative grade point average (CGPA). Information about the assessment system and/or classifications and how these are calculated can usually be found on the institution’s website. This information may also be found on the grades list (or the reverse thereof).