The grading system of the European Schools has been changing gradually since 2018. At the end of the 2020-2021 academic year, the first pupils will sit their school-leaving examination based on the new grading system.

New grading system

Under the new grading system, schools will use a scale from 0-10, with 5 being the minimum pass mark. For diplomas obtained before the 2020-2021 academic year, the minimum pass mark was 6.

Please note: the change in the grading system does not mean that it is now easier to obtain a pass. The requirements for obtaining the new mark 5 are the same as they were for mark 6 previously.

In the new system, the mark range for negative performance (0-4.9) is the same as the mark range for positive performance (5-10). The new system also allows schools to provide more detail regarding positive performance. For example, a distinction can now be made between Sufficient and Satisfactory.

The new grading system is more like the systems of other secondary schools in Europe.

Mark Meaning
9.00-10 Excellent
8.00-8.99 Very good
7.00-7.99 Good
6.00-6.99 Satisfactory
5.00-5.99 Sufficient
3.00-4.99 Failed (weak)
0.00-2.99 Failed (very weak)

You can find more information about the new assessment system on the Schola Europaea website.